Introducing…

by cristinalexa

I can still remember my favourite dress as a child; it was a yellow dress. The perfect shade of yellow that I can no longer find; a shade of marigold that actually suits my skin tone. When my mother gave me the liberty of choosing my own outfits, she was frustrated at my selections. I was rather anti-fashion; mixing checkerboard pattern leggings with floral dresses & distracting colours. I also seemed to have another sense of style, and it was a fantasy princess.

Gwen Stefani has an amazing sense of style

Then, I grew up past unicorns and fairy castles. Although my imagination has not left me, my fashion sense has evolved in many ways. My style icons would be what I dubbed “My Classics”: Audrey Hepburn, Marylin Monroe, Elizabeth Taylor, Grace Kelly, Dita Von Teese, Princess Diana, Lady Gaga, & Gwen Stefani. My main influences in fashion come from but not limited to: Coco Chanel, Christian Dior, Alexander McQueen, Alice + Olivia, Betsey Johnson, Patricia Field, Alexander Wang, Valentino, Carolina Herrera, Yves Saint Laurent, Juicy Couture, Bird by Juicy Couture, Kate Spade, Tory Burch, Christian Louboutin, Manolo Blahnik, Tarina Tarantino, Jennifer Chun, Ace & Jig, Jade Chiu, Frida Gianni, Tom Ford, & Gryphon. The artists I feel most impacted by are: Salvador Dali, Georgia O’Keeffe, Frida Khalo, Claude Monet, Barbara Kruger, Alberto Vargas, Gil Elvgren, Alex Grey & Banksy.

Dita Von Teese, A sexy, glamourous, classic beauty & style

One may say I have a kind of “split personality” when it comes to my fashion sense. There is the sweet, innocent, beautiful, poetic, classic, vintage, & otherwise known as cupcake side of me. There is also an edgy, sexy, avant-garde, bold, modern & the angry part of me. When it comes to fashion, I cannot be defined in another way… I am an Angry Cupcake.

This photo to me describes a dark, sweet, titillative beauty.

A few years ago, an amazing artist suggested that I write a fashion blog. She pointed out my artistic eye & my talent in writing. I felt bashful when I heard these statements, especially coming from her. She also recognized my ability to style myself or others with anyone’s wardrobe. She said I had an intuitive ability with fashion and colours to make anyone look like a rock star. For years these thoughts were left to collect dust in my mind until it hit me. I felt a yearning to share my ideas on fashion. I wanted to let the world observe how I see art in fashion.

Apnea, one of my favourite models for Lithium Picnic

Many moons later, here I am posting this blog. Let’s get our vogue on!

